“So What?” (Revised)

So i posted this post yesterday and half of it got cut out… here’s the whole thing:

I’m beginning to see something, not just in my life but throughtout the pages of scripture and in other people’s lives even now. That something is this: God’s 2 favorite words are, “So what?” Start from the beginning and move forward…
Abraham: God told him that He was going to make a great nation from his offspring, Abraham says, ” Well good luck cause my wife is barren.” God says, “So what?” Sarah gets pregnant at 100yrs old, and that marks the beginning of Abrahams long line of family members.

God calls Gideon and Gideon informs God, “Uh, I’m the weakest member of the weakest tribe, I got nothin!” God says, “So what?” and uses Gideon and 300 men to take out a whole army!

Moses had a speach impediment. God says, “So what?” And uses Moses to speak for Him!

Fast forward to Paul. Paul was murdering God’s people but God says, “So what?” and uses Paul to write most of the new testament.

You see where this is going?

I had one of these moments with God the other night when i was standing on stage leading 1500 people in worship.  I had a little conversation with God:

Me – “God, why in the world did you choose me to do this? Why did you pick ME out of all the people to lead people in worship to you?  I’m so so broken and there is so much crap in my life, i don’t feel worthy at all to be standing here. I mean i’m so grateful that i get to do this but i turn my back on you way to many times to be leading anyone.”

God – “So what? I’ve called you and chosen you to be a leader for these people, it doesn’t matter how broken or messy your life is, you’re here cause that’s what i want you to be doing. And your weakness is one of the reasons i am using you.”

Thus i had my own “So what?” moment with God.  So many prayers that we pray start with us telling God how unworthy we are and how we shouldn’t be used by him but he just smiles and says, “So what?” and uses us anyway.  I think God’s grace can be summed up in these 2 words and for that i am so grateful.  He is looking for humble yet bold, weak and dependent people to use and the more brokenness we have, the more His grace shines through.

One Response

  1. That was a really cool perspective. I will have to remember that!!

Leave a comment